Declaration of Candidates for the Upcoming 2022 Local General Elections


As at 4:00 pm on Friday, September 9, 2022, all those running as candidates in the upcoming local elections have submitted nomination papers. While current Mayor Don McCormick is unopposed, eight candidates have thrown their hat in the race for the six available Councillor positions. Those candidates include Sue Cairns, Kevin Dunnebacke, Craig Janzen, Woody Maguire, Jason McBain (incumbent), Sandra Roberts (incumbent), Steven Royer and Andrew Skaien.

The Kimberley and District Chamber of Commerce is hosting an All Candidates Forum on Monday, October 3, 2022 from 6:30 pm – 8:30 pm at McKim Middle School Auditorium. Doors open at 6:00 pm.

Local candidates for School Trustee include Donna Andrews, Betty Lou Barrett (incumbent), Roxanne McIntosh, Ronald McRae (incumbent), Darryl Oakley (former City Councillor), and Sandra Smaill (incumbent).

This election will also see the inclusion of a referendum question on the ballot to determine whether the electors approve of the City borrowing of up to $35,000,000 to help fund the replacement of the existing wastewater treatment plant with a new facility. Voters can view the Elector Assent Voting (referendum) question and all relevant documents and information on the City of Kimberley website at Residents are invited to a Public Information Session on Wednesday, September 28, 2022 at 7:00 pm in Council Chambers at City Hall. City staff will outline the project and budget and answer questions on the proposed Wastewater Treatment Plant.

For more information visit or contact City of Kimberley Chief Election Officer, Maryse Leroux at